Home Reviews Best Small Portable Power Station

Reviews · Power

Best small portable power station, 250 to 500Wh

Three grab-and-go units compared for the job this size actually does well: phones, a router, a fan, and roughly one night of CPAP. Not a small refrigerator, not a whole household.

Last reviewed: September 2026  ·  NWS Editorial Team  ·  Spec-reviewed

Jump to our pick

01 · Bottom line

The short answer

The Anker SOLIX C300 is the right pick for most households in this size class. 288Wh, three AC outlets plus dual 140W USB-C, a full recharge in about 70 minutes, and a 5-year warranty that beats the rest of the field. It regularly sells well under its $250 list price.

If the job is keeping a router, modem, or desktop alive through short outages without a reboot, the EcoFlow RIVER 3 Plus switches over in under 10 milliseconds and can add a second battery later to nearly triple its capacity without buying a new unit.

For the simplest possible option, the Jackery Explorer 300 Plus is a one-button device with no app required and a long reliability track record. It gives up nothing meaningful in this size class and costs about the same as the others.

Unit Price Capacity Chemistry Verdict
Anker SOLIX C300
Spec-reviewed
~$170-250 288Wh LFP Our pick
EcoFlow RIVER 3 Plus
Spec-reviewed
~$200-300 286Wh (to 858Wh) LFP UPS / expandable
Jackery Explorer 300 Plus
Spec-reviewed
~$190-280 288Wh LFP Simplest

02 · The honest math

What ~288Wh actually powers

All three units land within 2Wh of each other, so one table covers all three. Usable capacity assumes about 85% conversion efficiency, which is realistic for AC output.

Device Typical draw ~288Wh (~245Wh usable)
Smartphone charge ~15Wh/charge ~16 charges
Laptop charge ~65Wh/charge ~3-4 charges
Router + modem (idle draw) ~15W combined ~16 hrs
CPAP (no heat, 8-hr night) ~240Wh/night ~1 night
Portable fan (medium) ~35W ~7 hrs
LED work light (20W) ~20W ~12 hrs
Mini-fridge (cycling avg) ~100W avg ~2.5 hrs, then out
Window AC (750W) ~750W Cannot run

Key caveat

A CPAP without heated humidification draws roughly 240Wh over an 8-hour night. Against ~245Wh of usable capacity, that is one night with almost no margin left for anything else running at the same time. If overnight CPAP backup with real margin, or more than one device drawing power simultaneously, is the actual need, a 1000Wh-plus station is the correct purchase, not this size.

03 · Fit, not compromise

Who this size is actually for

A small power station is not a cut-rate version of a bigger one. It is a different tool, sized for a different job. Under 10 pounds, it fits in a bag, a car trunk, or under a desk permanently, in a way a 20-plus-pound unit does not.

This size fits four real situations well: a grab-and-go bag for phones, lights, and small devices during a short outage; a weekend of car camping where a cooler and a few gadgets are the whole load; a permanent desk companion that keeps a router, modem, or laptop running through brief interruptions; and a second, easy-to-move unit for a household that already owns a larger station for the big loads.

It does not fit refrigeration, air conditioning, multi-night CPAP with margin, or running more than a device or two at once. Buying this size for one of those jobs is a documented, predictable disappointment, not a surprise failure. All three units below use LFP (lithium iron phosphate) chemistry, rated for 3,000 or more charge cycles, so battery longevity is not the differentiator here. See the general power station comparison for why LFP matters and for the 1000Wh-plus tier that covers CPAP with margin, refrigeration, and whole-household backup.

Buy this size if

The load is phones, a router, small electronics, or one CPAP night. If the load is a fridge, an AC unit, or overnight medical equipment with real margin, buy the 1000Wh-plus tier instead. Buying twice costs more than buying right once.

04 · Our criteria

What matters at this size

Weight and true portability

Under 10 pounds is the point of this size class. A unit that starts creeping toward the mid-size tier's weight has given up the one advantage a small station has.

Recharge speed

A small station is often the one you top off between short outages, not the one you charge once and forget. Under 90 minutes to full from AC matters more here than at larger sizes.

UPS switchover

Whether the unit can sit plugged in, charging, and instantly pick up the load when grid power drops, without the connected device rebooting. Only one of the three tested here does this well.

Port count and type

AC outlets, USB-C fast charging, and a 12V car output cover most small-device needs. More ports means fewer choices about what stays charged.

Ease of use

Whether the unit requires an app to get useful information, or works with a single button and a built-in display. This matters most for the household member who is not the one who researched the purchase.

Expandability

Whether the platform can grow with an add-on battery module later, rather than requiring a full replacement if household needs increase.

05 · The candidates

Three stations, honestly compared

All spec-reviewed against published specifications and current retail listings.

Unit Price Capacity AC output Chemistry AC recharge Weight UPS switchover
Anker SOLIX C300
Spec-reviewed
~$170-250 288Wh 300W (600W surge) LFP ~70 min 9 lbs Not specified
EcoFlow RIVER 3 Plus
Spec-reviewed
~$200-300 286Wh (to 858Wh) 300W (760W X-Boost) LFP ~1 hr ~9 lbs <10 ms
Jackery Explorer 300 Plus
Spec-reviewed
~$190-280 288Wh 300W LFP ~2 hrs 8.3 lbs Not specified

Prices fluctuate with frequent sales on all three; watch for drops below the low end of the range shown. AC recharge time is 0 to 100% via wall outlet unless noted.

06 · Deep dives

What the spec sheets don't say

The practical questions answered before you buy.

Our pick

Anker SOLIX C300

~$170-250  ·  288Wh  ·  LFP  ·  300W AC (600W surge)  ·  9 lbs

See on Amazon

Why it works

Three full AC outlets on a station this size is not the norm at this price. Paired with dual 140W USB-C ports that support two-way fast charging, the C300 recharges to full in roughly 70 minutes from a wall outlet, faster than either competitor. SurgePad briefly lifts output to 600W for appliances that spike on startup.

Anker backs the unit with a 5-year warranty, longer than the industry norm for this class, on a battery rated for 3,000 charge cycles.

The catch

At 9 pounds it is the heaviest of the three, a real if small gap against the Jackery's 8.3 pounds. Anker has not published a UPS switchover spec for this model, so if instant pass-through for a router or desktop is the priority, this is not the pick to build around.

List price is $249.99, but the unit is on sale often enough that paying full price is avoidable with a little patience.

UPS / expandable

EcoFlow RIVER 3 Plus

~$200-300  ·  286Wh, to 858Wh  ·  LFP  ·  300W AC (760W X-Boost)  ·  ~9 lbs

See on Amazon

Why it works

The RIVER 3 Plus is the only unit here with a published UPS switchover time, under 10 milliseconds. Left plugged in and charging, it picks up a router, modem, or desktop computer fast enough that the device does not notice the grid dropped out. For a household whose real concern is short, frequent outages rather than a multi-day event, that single spec can matter more than raw capacity.

It is also the only unit in this class with a real expansion path. Adding the EB300 battery module takes it from 286Wh to 572Wh, and a second module reaches 858Wh, without replacing the base unit. Operating noise stays under 30 decibels.

The catch

The expansion battery is sold separately and is not cheap; the appeal is the option to grow later, not a bundled discount today. Buying the expansion module up front erases most of this size class's price advantage over a mid-size unit.

EcoFlow's app carries more settings and detail than the other two, which some households will want and others will find is more than they need for a small grab-and-go unit.

Simplest option

Jackery Explorer 300 Plus

~$190-280  ·  288Wh  ·  LFP  ·  300W AC output  ·  8.3 lbs

See on Amazon

Why it works

One-button start, a built-in display, and no requirement to open an app to see remaining charge. For a unit that is going into a bag or a vehicle where someone other than the researcher may need to use it under stress, that simplicity is a genuine feature, not a missing one.

At 8.3 pounds it is the lightest of the three. It is UL certified with 52 documented protective mechanisms, and Jackery's ChargeShield technology is built specifically to extend usable battery life over years of infrequent charging, the exact pattern emergency gear sees.

The catch

Recharge from a wall outlet takes about 2 hours, the slowest of the three. During a string of short outages, that is more time spent waiting to top off than either competitor requires.

A single AC outlet and no published UPS spec means this is the pick for straightforward, one-thing-at-a-time use, not for a household trying to keep multiple devices running through instant grid drops.

07 · What we'd buy

Our recommendation

One primary pick for most households. One pick for a specific need. Both are gear we'd keep in our own kit.

Primary pick

Anker SOLIX C300

~$170-250 (watch for sales)  ·  288Wh  ·  LFP

The most outlets, the fastest recharge, and the longest warranty in this size class. Right for phones, small devices, camping, and short outages.

See on Amazon

For router / desktop UPS

EcoFlow RIVER 3 Plus

~$200-300  ·  286Wh, to 858Wh  ·  LFP

Under-10ms switchover keeps a router or desktop from rebooting during short outages, with a real path to more capacity later.

See on Amazon

NWS earns a small commission on Amazon purchases through links on this page. This doesn't change what we recommend or how we evaluate. We only list gear we'd keep in our own kit.

08 · What we chose not to test

Brands we left out

These appear frequently on "small power station" lists and deserve an honest accounting.

Bluetti EB3A and Elite 30 V2

Capable units around 288Wh with solid reputations and competitive pricing. The reason they are not here: across the same three metrics we prioritize, port variety, recharge speed, and either UPS switchover or expansion capability, Bluetti's small-tier units match but do not beat any of the three above on any single dimension. A close call, not a rejection. Worth a look if the exact price at the moment of purchase favors Bluetti.

EcoFlow RIVER 2 and RIVER 3 (non-Plus)

The standard RIVER 3 at 245Wh is genuinely fast to charge and light at under 8 pounds, and it undercuts the RIVER 3 Plus on price. The reason we point to the Plus instead: the Plus adds the under-10ms UPS switchover and the expansion path that make EcoFlow's entry worth choosing over Anker's or Jackery's. Without those two features, the standard RIVER 3 is a fine unit but does not distinguish itself from the C300 or Explorer 300 Plus on anything that matters at this size.

Unbranded and off-brand 300W units

A wide field of unfamiliar brands sells 250 to 300Wh units at $50 to $100 below the three above, often with similar-looking spec sheets. Warranty terms are frequently shorter or unenforceable in practice, and battery management system quality varies without independent testing to verify it. For equipment whose entire purpose is working correctly during an emergency, the savings do not offset the uncertainty.

09 · Readiness curve

Where this fits your readiness plan

A small power station sits between a power bank and a whole-household backup unit. Here is where it fits.

Tier 1 · First 72 Hours

This is the right size for Tier 1. It covers phones, small lighting, and a router through a short outage without the weight or cost of a larger unit that Tier 1 does not need.

First 72 Hours guide

Tier 2 · First 2 Weeks

This size runs out of runway fast for extended outages. If CPAP continuity, continuous air purification, or multi-day device charging for a household is the need, step up to the 1000Wh-plus tier instead.

First 2 Weeks guide

Self-Reliance · Energy

A small station pairs well with a compact 20 to 40W folding solar panel for slow trickle charging on the move. It is not the right anchor for a home solar backup system.

Energy independence guide

Review companion

Looking for the size up? The general portable power station guide covers 1000Wh and 2048Wh units for CPAP with margin, refrigeration, and larger household loads.

Portable power station guide